Thread: Not Your Average Newbie

User Info Menu

Default Not Your Average Newbie

Hi, let me start by saying I'm not the average person you find on this kind of site. But I liked the friendly feel of this website & thought I'd jump in.

I'm a 48-year-old soccer mom who has wanted to learn to play drums for a long time. Let me tell you a little about myself. I am a cartoonist with no professional training, just what's inherited from my dad, & I'm better than a lot of people who are getting paid for their artwork. I played basic acoustic guitar in my teens & twenties but hit a learning plateau. I pursued other things for years, getting my private pilot's license flying a 1946 Taylorcraft, then buying & restoring a 1969 Olds 442. I bought a beginner drumset just after Thanksgiving, but I got drumming DVDs from the library & was working on hand-foot coordination on a pillow before I picked them up. A month into it, I'm having a blast, & I'm upgrading my equipment already (still cheap stuff, but better than what came with the set). Here's the issue: I don't see myself learning to read music. I have no desire to play professionally, & my middle-aged eyes just can't focus that fast. My daughter, who plays clarinet in the school band, has tried to help me but I just don't think I need to go there. I consider myself fairly knowledgeable about music from a listener's point of view (I was the person people called for musical answers before the internet came on the scene). I can hear the layers of a song, tell who influenced whom, & feel what it was like when rock & roll emerged. I'm starting off with fairly uncomplicated stuff, playing along with things like early Beatles or The Ventures on my MP3 player.