Thread: Going maple? need some input

User Info Menu

Default Going maple? need some input

Hi folks. So a friend of mine who lives in Manila offered me his 13x5 Gretsch Renown Maple snare to trade with my Chad Smith steel snare 14x5. I love my chad smith snare but I've always wanted to try and explore maple snares. I've no experience of wood snares except the pearl forum stock poplar snare which I don't use anymore. What would you do if you were in my shoes? Any input about the Gretsch snare would help too
    Paiste Posse
    14inch 2002 series Sound Edge Hi-hats
    16inch and 18inch Signature series Fast crashes
    20inch 3000 series Ride
    18inch PST5 series China

Pearl Forum Series drum set
    Pearl Chad Smith Signature snare(steel shell)
    Tama Iron Cobra Chrome

RIP Frank - You will be remembered

User Info Menu

Default Re: Going maple? need some input

Are there any music stores around you? You could go find some 13" maple snares to try out. But I say, if you're perfectly happy with your steel snare, why trade it away for a snare you might not like as much?
    Matt

User Info Menu

Andreeew, I would agree with yohin. If you love your Chad Smith snare, then you need to keep it until you are sure about a maple snare. Everyone's taste is different, so even if I told you about the great sound of a maple snare, you still might prefer your Chad Smith snare once you heard a maple snare.

Look at it this way: you have a snare that you know you love, and your friend wants you to trade for a snare that you might love. I would call that a sucker's bet. Stick with what you love, and check into maple snares when you can. If you find that you like maple snares better, you can do something about it later. Don't forget that you friend is trying to unload his snare. The other thing to keep in mind is whether you will like the sound of a 13X5 snare better than a 14X5.