Thread: Help with first conga set

User Info Menu

Default Help with first conga set

I recently purchased my first conga set. It's a Matador Custom Quinto and Conga.
    I am new to this, and have trouble tuning them to sound decent. Are there any video examples of professionals playing only Quinto and Conga so I can try to tune my similarly? Should I have gotten a Conga&Tumba set instead?

User Info Menu

Default Re: Help with first conga set

What seems to be the problem?
    Is the problem with each drum or only with the pairing of the two drums?
    What have you tried?
    What are you trying to achieve?
    Do you have a piano?

If you tune them a fifth apart you'll get a good guaguanco tune which is what I look for.
    Quinto Conga pair is fine.
    Most folks would tune their conga to a good sound with good action (which will just be a property of that particular drum) and then tune their quinto up a fifth from that (for a two drum combo).

User Info Menu

Welcome to Drum Chat abnorm and Jibaro!

leedy2, I remember when you posted that video before, and it's an excellent resource. i learned a lot from it.
    Quoting gonefishin: Just have some bacon with ya when you go pick her up..........youre an instant chick magnet.

For coupons and specials, join the Drum Bum mailing list.

Buy Gifts for Drummers. And don't miss the free Drum Lessons!

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by leedy2 View Post
    Here you have one showing you his technique on tuning drum. I find him the clearest of all the others ones in explaining .One thing that I ask of you not to pay attention as to what he talks on note's. and simple congas do not have melodic tones you need more than 7 conga drums to make a melody.But that's an other topic.conga and tumba would have been better but work with what you have.
    Thank you for the link. Can you explain why conga and tumba would be better for a 2 drum setup? I am planning on using this setup for a pop music.