Thread: Drum Beats?

User Info Menu

Default Drum Beats?

I am new to Drummer (about 6 months of drumming) and I can't seem to make up new beats. Will this get easier as I become more exp drummer or what? Thanks for the help!

User Info Menu

Default Re: Drum Beats?

Try listening to your favorite bands/drummers for inspiration It'll come to you!
    Paiste Posse
    14inch 2002 series Sound Edge Hi-hats
    16inch and 18inch Signature series Fast crashes
    20inch 3000 series Ride
    18inch PST5 series China

Pearl Forum Series drum set
    Pearl Chad Smith Signature snare(steel shell)
    Tama Iron Cobra Chrome

RIP Frank - You will be remembered

User Info Menu

Yes agreed with Andrew!

Consider getting some drum books as well... they have different beats you can practice as well as rudiments and sticking control exercises that give birth to ideas.

Welcome to DC btw

User Info Menu

Yes agreed with Andrew!

Consider getting some drum books as well... they have different beats you can practice as well as rudiments and sticking control exercises that give birth to ideas.

Welcome to DC btw

User Info Menu

You should really consider getting your rudiments very solid (if you haven't already). They are like letters of the alphabet, and the more you know, the more words you can spell, and the more complex sentences you can create. Another idea is to get "Stick Control: For the Snare Drummer," and use those simple patterns in beats. In other words, keep an ostinato on the hihat, and try to read and play the patterns with your opposite hand, foot (either one). This will improve independence, thus allowing you to play what ever comes to mind. Your creativity will be your only barrier. Good luck!!
    JC-

User Info Menu

Are you taking lessons? A teacher could help with this, Or look on the net and practice practice.
    Have you got you're ticket for the rock train? You gotta earn that Ticket!!