Thread: Tricks to porting a Fibraskin

User Info Menu

Default Tricks to porting a Fibraskin

I have recently put a new Remo Fibraskin (sp?) as a reso on my kick and I need to cut some small ports for air flow. I have never used this type of head before and want to know if there are any tricks or keys to successfully porting it.
    Is it best to use a blade or should I try a soldering iron to cut the holes?
    Anyone have some experience to speak from?
    Proudly playing:
    Doc Sweeney Drums
    A bunch of snares
    A bunch of cymbals

Off-Set double pedals

I think I love to play the drums simply because you get to hit 'em!!!

User Info Menu

Default Re: Tricks to porting a Fibraskin

if you use an actual port hole like the aquarian one for example there shouldn't be an issue

User Info Menu

Thanks itchie.
    The issue is that I play an 18" kick so I don't want the standard 6" hole as I will lose too much resonance. I plan on putting four 2-3" holes about 5-6" in from the edge at 2,4 8, and 10 o'clock. I will have to make these myself as no-one sells a kit for ports this small.
    Any hints...anyone...
    Proudly playing:
    Doc Sweeney Drums
    A bunch of snares
    A bunch of cymbals

Off-Set double pedals

User Info Menu

I would suggest one 4" hole rather than several smaller holes. You don't need as many as you are speaking about. The loss of mass would be far more than a 6" hole on a 22" head not only as a percentage, but in actual square inches. To get enough resonation from your front head, you need to retain the mass. A 4" hole is fairly small, but large enough to get your hand through if needed as well as for mic placement. 4.5" would be even safer but if you want to use an aftermarket ring, be sure your diameter is of a standard size. Even a 5" hole would be more effective than several smaller holes, IMO.