Thread: Question about new skins

User Info Menu

Default Question about new skins

I plan on purchasing new skins soon. At the moment I have EC2's on my 10 and 12" toms and a hydraulic on my floor tom. They match well and I love the sound of my hydraulic floor tom. My question is this, I'm looking for a warmer sound and I heard the EC2 coated is exactly what I'm looking for. The thing is I want to keep the hydraulic on the floor. Will the coated and hydraulic match up well together or should I put hydraulics on all my toms.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Question about new skins

Robert,
    I am very new to the set up and tuning of drums. As a guitar player for many years, the drums are not strangers, but recently have devoted a lot of time on tuning and learning the sounds the drums produce. I may not be the guy to answer your question but I think I may be able to add some facts that I have learned along the way. I have found that almost all dampening you do to your drum head will promote attack. I have been playing the EC2 on my 14 and 16 and found it to be very thick and big BUT I have too much attack. In my opinion you way box the tone of the rack toms with those hydraulic heads. Just a thought. If you are looking for warmth, like me, then I recommend a coated head. Honestly, purchase a few different heads for one of your drums and see how it works. Finding your tone will require you to purchase different heads and play them. Plain and simple. Hope this helps.

User Info Menu

Animal, Thanks for in advice. Much appreciated.

User Info Menu

I'd go with hydraulics all the way around. Evans has three types of hydraulic heads, blue, clear and black hydraulic heads. I had the clear Evans Hydr/Evans G1 and they had a wet, fat, warm sound like the old '70s rock tunes I always love to listen to. The blue heads also have a great warm wet sound too.