Thread: Getting along without a teacher

User Info Menu

Default Getting along without a teacher

I've been drumming for roughly two months. I have a copy of "The Complete Idiot's Guide to Play Drums" and have been trying to progress my way through the book (I'm still doing stuff on the snare, I haven't gotten to using my full kit yet). My main problem is that I'm the kind of person who needs someone to show me what to do, not just tell me, because I'm weird like that. I cannot find a teacher where I live (it's a pretty small town), and it's pretty frustrating. Drums are by far the most difficult instrument I've ever learned (been playing guitar for ten years, bass for a few less). I've spent the last two months pretty much going through the snare exercises in my book and doing sloppy Mick Harris style blast-beats. That doesn't feel like much progress to me, and I'd like to maximize such things.

I guess what I'm asking is: How vital is it to have a teacher? Can I get along just by using books/the internet? How many people here are self-taught? If you were, how did you do it?

And if you have a teacher, how did you find them? Is there some special drum teachers' hideout I'm unaware of? I'd be willing to drive out to a bigger city/town, but I've been using Google like crazy and can't manage to find anyone.

Thanks to anyone who can help.
    "The kid that eats too many marbles doesn't grow up to have kids of his own."
    - George Carlin

User Info Menu

Default Re: Getting along without a teacher

Because of your statement, "Drums are by far the most difficult instrument I've ever learned." I would have to say that a teacher for you is in fact vital. Drums were never hard for me and I still took drum lessons intermittently. A good teacher can really get you focused and will guide you appropriately.

User Info Menu