Thread: is this considered a polyrhythm? what is this?

User Info Menu

Default is this considered a polyrhythm? what is this?

hey guys ive been drumming for about two years and ive recently become interested in polyrhythms. i was playing around on my kit today and i messed around with this weird beat until i found a way for each thing i was playing to match up and start over at the same time. anyways i have a few questions about what exactly it is that i played.

for it to all start over at the same time, i was counting
    1 2 3 4 5 1 2 3 4 5 1 2 3 4 5 on a cymbal and
    i was doing 7 bass kicks (double bass at twice the tempo of the cymbal) that would end on the four, then rest on the 5, then start again on the 1 and end on the next 4 and so on. and i was hitting the snare on
    1, between 2 and 3, 4, between 5 and 1 and so on. so if the double bass was going the whole time it would be every 3 bass kicks. and the whole thing repeats perfectly every three counts of 5 like i typed up there.

so is this considered a polyrhythm? and if so then what would the timings of the cymbal, bass, and snare be? and what does it mean that it repeats every 3 counts of 5 instead of 4?

i apologize for me having good music terminology. i completely understand it in my head and thats the best i can explain it via the computer. anyways it sounds pretty cool when it all comes together clean and ive been playing with a lot of different combinations of this and its super fun!
    thanks in advance for any help!

User Info Menu

Default Re: is this considered a polyrhythm? what is this?

its usually called a polyrhythm or hemiola where there are two patterns that are played within a set time frame using different subdivisions of the quarternote. yours for instance would be 5 against 7. most commons are 3 against 2 and 4 against 3. if you are playing quarternotes on one hand and triplets on the other in the same tempo you start and end the same but are playing 4 against 3.