Thread: Hello!

User Info Menu

Default Hello!

Hello,

This is my first post in Drum Chat and I am ecstatic!

I'm extremely glad I found this community of drummers
    It's a bit hard finding other drummers, seems like we're a rare breed :D.

I've been playing for about 4 months now. Practicing around an hour every day. Got my basic beats down, been messing with those and practicing my rudiments trying to get some speed. My problem is that everyone around me tells me that I'm starting too late, that all the great drummers started when they were in their early teens >.>. I mean I'm 18 now and currently attending the University of New Mexico going to be a sophmore this fall.

Is this true? I mean, what I'm shooting for is to be able to play some nice grooves and be able to jam with my friends who play other instruments. Maybe, a few years from now be able to play at a small club and have a bit of fun that way every so often. I'm planning on majoring in Psychology and going that route so I'm definitely not expecting to get paid or anything. I just want to do it to have some fun playing music. I love music.

Do you guys think I'm starting too late?

Also, I started out with a 5 piece Pearl Forum series I bought from Craigslist. The set ended up not having the sound I liked and it just didn't give me the right feeling. Just didn't feel right, not sure if you guys have felt that before. I think it had more to do with the fact that I got the set from some questionable individuals that hadn't taken good care of it than sound but either way I sold it.