Thread: harlo

User Info Menu

Default harlo

new to the forums, i've been tryin to post and it wont work.. so this is also a test :o

User Info Menu

wow wierd it kept saying invalid link. anyway so im a brand new drummer, in fact i dont even have a drumset and thats why im here. im also glad i found this place seems like you guys have a good thing going here.

So i've been looking at a 5piece PDP/maple with aa meinl cymbals and perhaps sabian hi-hat/ride. I've also got my eye on a gretsch catalina 4piece. And i think i'll go with ahead 5a's since they're light, i might move to 5b's later. But lemme know what you guys think i've been reading about rudiments and such, but i'd appreciate any insider advice i can get about how to progress better/faster. I've bought a practice pad and some sticks already, just practicing before i get the drumset in another 3 weeks. I listen to thrice/underoath/saosin/armor for sleep/thursday/norma jean that kinda stuff.. i've got a few kits in mind but you guys might know of one that would suit that style of playing better.. im open and ready for any advice! :D and you can bet i'll be posting here alot im amped about it all.

User Info Menu

I also would like to know about fill etc etc.. when i listen to drumming i can tell that there is a foundation beat so to speak (not sure what its really called) its the beat that is played about 3-5 times throughout the song and there seems to be what i think you guys call fill in between that. Wouldnt mind knowing a little more about the foundation of how the beats/drumming fit together.. im sure you know what im talking about.
    Last edited by Circa; 03-19-2007 at 02:46 PM.

User Info Menu

Welcome to drumchat circa

When I first joined I had just started drumming, I wasn't sure if I had a kit but I don't think I did either.

You pick it up as you go along

Welcome again