Thread: A question that's probably been asked before...

User Info Menu

Default A question that's probably been asked before...

Hey all, me again, still spending money on drums.

The time has come to change out the batter heads on my 3 toms and snare. I'm not new to drumming but am relatively new to acoustic drums.

Since this is my first time switchin out heads, I need some professional advice...

I play Rock, Alternative, Alternative Rock, Alternative Metal, Metal, and Punk. I'm really looking for heads that are extremely muffled (don't want to spend the $ on hydraulic heads), low tuned, and durable.

Not that anyone cares but I'll prefer to order them from musicians friend. Thanks in advance.
    I am currently suffering from gear acquisition syndrome. Will trade soul for drum gear. Donations accepted.

-Tama Superstar Hyper-Drive 5-piece
    -SP Hardware
    -Gibraltar Avenger DB-Pedal
    -PST5 Cymbals

"Uncontrollable urticaria drivel spurting" -a sentence spawned from the half a word story.

User Info Menu

Default Re: A question that's probably been asked before...

evans hydraulic are not that expensive, only maybe onther $1 per head. theres also the onyx heads by evans.

from evans site:
    Onyx 2-ply for @ $61
    Sound: dark and focused, with a punchy attack that's well suited to aggressive playing styles

Hydraulic Glass, Blue, & Black for @ $46
    Sound: fat and deep with a short sustain; cures tuning inconsistencies on less expensive or damaged drums

the prices are for a 12", 13" and 16"
    Last edited by bloodylipp; 04-23-2010 at 08:49 PM.

User Info Menu

remo pinstripes would be perfect
    Tamaholic

User Info Menu

Right now I'm looking at Remo Clear Pinstripes for the toms and a Remo Weather King Coated Ambassador for the snare. How do those sound?
    I am currently suffering from gear acquisition syndrome. Will trade soul for drum gear. Donations accepted.

-SP Hardware
    -PST5 Cymbals