Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: bearing edge uneven

User Info Menu

Default bearing edge uneven

the bearing edge on the batter side of my snare is uneven. when laid on a glass top, it has a 1/32" to a 1/16" gap in an area on one side. does it need to be perfect? the drum is new. is this an acceptable flaw or should i return it. i'm a beginner, and don't know what to do? thanks

User Info Menu

Default Re: bearing edge uneven

hello james welcome to drumchat

you would be amazed how much difference a balanced baring edge can make

here
    is a link to a thread I posted a while back showing the transformation of my baring edge

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by james05 View Post
    the bearing edge on the batter side of my snare is uneven. when laid on a glass top, it has a 1/32" to a 1/16" gap in an area on one side. does it need to be perfect? the drum is new. is this an acceptable flaw or should i return it. i'm a beginner, and don't know what to do? thanks
    I would use something different than a glass top to check your edges. Glass is not very flat. Not to say that the edge isn't uneven, just that the glass top could make it look worse than it actually is.

User Info Menu

I would think an edge that far out would make a difference in the way the head would seat and sound. I would have them checked, and I disagree about the glass. It would be plenty flat enough to check a bearing edge. Darken a room place a Flash light in the drum and check for light between the glass surface and the bearing edge that way you can get a good visual as to how far off it is. Then you can decide if it needs to be recut or sent back for warrenty etc.

User Info Menu

Welcome to Drum Chat James!

If this is a new snare, I would take it back and make them aware of the problem. The bearing edge on the batter side should be better than what you described. It is always possible that something got past quality control, and that should not be your problem.