Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Play "by ear"

User Info Menu

Default Play "by ear"

Hi! Im new and trying to learn, but I've got an miportant question: Is it possible to learn just by playing (along with songs you like) or you must do all the basic exercises (paradiddles, etc).????

Thanks a lot!

User Info Menu

paradiddles are great to use just getting your hand motion down and practicing your control over the sticks, i've never found use for them in regular playing though. it's your choice if you want to learn songs, but developing and getting down your own technique (without using lesson books) can make your style sound much more unique. learning the basics of music, however, you could write your own rudiments and take it from there.
    Hope it helps
    www.myspace.com/maudeephyfe
    The good times won't roll themselves
    Gretsch Renown Maple, Paiste Signature, Reflector, and Dark Energy

User Info Menu

Hi Alaman, I'm also a beginner and I've been told that it's very important to practice your rudiments.......... I've been practicing my rudiments relentlessly and each time I find that it's easier to play along with the songs. Now, of course, I am not a pro but from everything I've read, it's important to practice the rudiments............ I'va also read posts from some of the members of this board that say "they wished they would have paid more attention to rudiments when they first started out"......... Just my 2 cents.

User Info Menu

I never really learned rudiments (even though I should and it would benefit me in more ways than one.)
    I learned The Four Basic Beats, and kept taking those beats another step further, by adding hi-hat fills, tom rolls and double bass.
    If you learn rudiments you will be twice as able as I am, becuase you will be able to play the things that require them, whereas I can't.

In short: I never learned rudiments. But you should.