Thread: But, I LIKE cymbals...

User Info Menu

Default But, I LIKE cymbals...

Whew!!!

Been trying to mix some songs for my band, and it's almost like the old joke. "Make it sound more blue." "I dunno, that sounds just a touch too, well, you know... " Make everything louder than everything else." If you've ever tried to mix something to please a bunch of musicians, you'll know what I mean...

Now, I'm a bassist by trade so I'm used to standing next to the cymbals all night. And as a result, I really dig the sound of cymbals. Since I started messing around playing drums last year, I've upgraded all of our cymbals and really love the way the kit sounds now.

So, to make a short story long...

We're doing some recording in my little basement studio, and when I get a mix I like, everyone else says the cymbals are too hot and there's not enough kick and snare. Evidently, I'm mixing it to match what I hear when we play live.

Would any of you mind taking a listen to a couple of mixes and letting me know which one appeals to you?

Here's my original mix of the song Come What May. I realize the vocals are a little hot, but I absolutely love the cymbal sound:
    http://www.reverbnation.com/play_now/song_3930365

Here's the new mix, with the cymbals and vocals down a bit and the kick, snare and bass pumped up a bit:
    http://www.reverbnation.com/play_now/song_3949023

So if any of y'all would have the time and/or the inclination to do a little critical listening from a drummer's perspective, I welcome all comments and criticism.

Thanks!

User Info Menu

Default Re: But, I LIKE cymbals...

LDS, I like your original mix better. I think the new mix subdues the vocals and the cymbals too much. You definitely need a bit more treble and midrange in the mix. Maybe you could find a happy medium between the two. I really like that you can hear the sticking of the ride in the original mix, and would hate to hear that being lost.