Thread: DW 9000 Single Bass Drum Pedal Review and Pics

User Info Menu

Default DW 9000 Single Bass Drum Pedal Review and Pics

I've been using a DW 9000 pedal for a couple of months now and decided to post a review. The pedal is a substantial piece of drum equipment weighing in at approximately 6 lbs. The pedals are assembled in the USA with components manufactured in Taiwan and the USA.

Out of the box accessories included are:
    *Reversible felt / plastic mallet
    *Mallet memory lock
    *Mallet weight
    *Optional drive system nylon strap
    *Rubber pad for bass drum hoop
    *Optional toe stop
    *DW Decal
    *Two allen wrenches
    *Drum key / allen wrench tool (clips to base)
    *Nylon carry bag

The entire assembly is mounted to a sturdy aluminum base. The underside of the base has strips of Velcro, which does an excellent job of adhering the pedal to a low pile drum rug. There are two angled spurs to further anchor the pedal, however I find the spurs are not needed when using a drum rug as the Velcro is very sticky.

The pedal's operation is extremely quite, smooth and responsive. To me there is a nice weighted feel when my foot is pulled back far enough to see the dw logo and the 9 or part of the 9 on the footboard.

Continued in the next post...

User Info Menu

Default Re: DW 9000 Single Bass Drum Pedal Review and Pics

...continued from previous post.

If you typically allow yourself to to get used to default settings when you buy something, out of the box this pedal feels pretty good. If your constantly tweaking with settings trying to get that perfect feel, then this pedal might keep you busy as there are many available adjustments and many settings within each adjustment.