Thread: Drumset Pedagogy

User Info Menu

Default Drumset Pedagogy

It seems every drumset teacher has a different way of teaching, books, emphasis, etc. When I studied trumpet there was a standard pedagogy or path most players followed in terms of what books and exercises everyone studied along with certain bench marks that indicated proficiency. I have not found that to be the case with drumset. Further, I have found it very frustrating when trying to figure out where I am at or where I need to go in my development as a drumset player. Does anyone have a good drumset pedagogy they are willing to share?

User Info Menu

Default Re: Drumset Pedagogy

For drums, everything starts with rudiments. Get those basics down then a lot of those basics can be applied to the set in various ways.

After that there's really no hard fast rules for a set...just keep the beat and make sure it fits the song. There's lots of room for improv.
    PDP Platinum Series drum set (Fire Engine Red Metallic to Black Fade)
    - one 12" up, one 16" down

13x7" Ludwig Black Magic snare
    14x5.5" PDP Platinum 12 ply snare

14" Zildjian A Series New Beat hi-hats
    17" Zildjian A Series Medium Thin crash
    21" Zildjian A Series Sweet Ride

User Info Menu