Thread: Can anyone help a bongo cajon noob?

User Info Menu

Default Can anyone help a bongo cajon noob?

First off, hi all - both to the forum and the world of percussion, as I am completely new. I'm a bassist, so percussion is a new frontier for me.

I purchased a Meinl Snare Bongo Cajon and I was hoping someone here might have one and could give me some direction on how to learn to start playing it. I've looked at cajon and bongo resources, but this thing seems to be kind of unique. Like an other instrument, I want to learn the right way to play and practice it before I develop any bad habits. I truly appreciate any help yall can give me in starting my journey into percussion.

User Info Menu

Cool Re: Can anyone help a bongo cajon noob?

Welcome aboard, Timewall! I don't play the bongo cajon myself, but if this is the Meinl model I think it is, it resembles a pair of bongos made with solid wood. As such, they can be played with either the hands (as you would play regular skin-headed bongos) or with sticks.

I know at least one DrumChatter has a similar bongo cajon set-up, so here's hoping he'll answer the question a little more fully than I can.

Enjoy!
    keep the beat goin' ... Don't keep it to yourself!

Charlie

"If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured or far away." --Henry David Thoreau, "Walden," 1854

"There's a lot to be said for Time Honored tradition and value." --In memory of Frank "fiacovaz" Iacovazzi

"Maybe your drums can be beat, but you can't."--Jack Keck

User Info Menu

Default Re: Can anyone help a bongo cajon noob?