Thread: any hardcore drummers?

User Info Menu

Default any hardcore drummers?

Hey im new to the screamo deathcore kind of drumming and I was wondering how you learned to play this type of music because im having trouble with it. Its not that im bad or that im not good at double bass because im actually really good at it but learning songs are tough. The song i want to learn is to plant a seed by we came as romans. So any tips on how people develope this kind of playing style would be much appreciated
    You can't change the past but you can always alter the future.

User Info Menu

Default Re: any hardcore drummers?

i try to listen to music i want to learn on really good speakers or headphones so i can clearly hear the notes. thats the easiest way for me to figure it out.

the play along on the set,

then repeat

and repeat

then again...

User Info Menu

I don't play Deathcore or anything close to that, but I am into Alternative Metal and Metal, which uses a lot of double bass. Just practice. That's all i can say. If you've been playing single pedal for a while you'll see that your left leg is a lot weaker and uncoordinated than your right (if you're right handed). You've just got to keep playing to songs and eventually you'll work up the strength and coordination. My left leg caught up in about 2-3 months, playing at least 2 hours a day.
    I am currently suffering from gear acquisition syndrome. Will trade soul for drum gear. Donations accepted.

-Tama Superstar Hyper-Drive 5-piece
    -SP Hardware
    -Gibraltar Avenger DB-Pedal
    -PST5 Cymbals

"Uncontrollable urticaria drivel spurting" -a sentence spawned from the half a word story.

User Info Menu

screamo/deathcore isn't hardcore, hardcore is more of a punk influence, but either way I would just listen to the bands that yous are trying to have a similar sound of and try to duplicate, then create.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Constinator25 View Post