Thread: Anyone have any complaints/praise for the yamaha DTXPress IV?

User Info Menu

Default Anyone have any complaints/praise for the yamaha DTXPress IV?

I found a yamaha dtxpress iv on craigslist for muy cheapo and im just wondering if anyone could give me some good reviews, ratings out of 10, pros, cons,any upgrades you may have put it on it,what upgrades are available,how durable/versatile it is, etc etc. I've been playing for like 6 years now and have researched e-drums for like a year, and this looks like the deal that'll get me practicing quietly. but a naked google search yields very little on this kit (the standard version that is. they wont shut up about the special edition...) all i know is that there is a 3 trigger snare, 3 trigger hi hat, and 3 trigger cymbals, with single trigger toms and bass, correct? anyway, thanks allot guys. anything you can tell me is appreciated. Keep on Rockin

User Info Menu

Default Re: Anyone have any complaints/praise for the yamaha DTXPress IV?

The reason why you find so much on the special edition is because it wasn't that much more, in terms of money, but gave you significantly better options. With the standard version you'll have a regular pad as your hi-hat, as opposed to the freestanding hi-hat with the special. Also, the special edition had the upgraded snare pad while the standard has a "regular" pad (although it *IS* three-zone just the same).