Thread: Drum fills...

User Info Menu

Default Drum fills...

K, I have been playing for two years, and I play pretty much everything from latin, swing, jazz, rock, punk rock, blues. but I concentrate more on thrash Metal metal though.

When I do fills whihc I cant I do not no how to get back on beat, I dont count in my head at all I just feel everything, andf no one complains they all say its great, plus when I get off beat I no, coz it sounds horrible and gives me a headache.

Your simple 4 sets of 16th is easy enough, but I see people doing fills with rests and all that fancy stuff, I really need help

Thanks a bunch guys

User Info Menu

Default Re: Drum fills...

Hmmm...I'm confused...are you saying that you don't have this problem when you play latin, jazz, rock, or blues....but yet, you have it when you play trash metal ?

User Info Menu

You need to slow everything down and practice playing your various subdivisions (8ths, 16ths, 32nds, 8th triplets, 16th triplets, etc.). Then work on moving them around the kit, speeding them up, and eventually changing between them during fills. If you can't "feel" something, you should probably try to work it out.

User Info Menu

No, I have problems with fills in general in any style

And thank you :D

Any sort of patternsa you could give me or a link maybe?

User Info Menu

get a metronome. its one of a drummers best friends!
    Taye Studio Maple
    6'', 8'', 10'', 12'', 14'', 16'' toms
    14'' wood snare
    10'' and 8'' Stainless steel snares
    12'' and 14'' Stainless steel timbales
    10'', 12'', 14'' fast toms
    22'' kick
    14'' b8 pro hi hats
    17'', 19'', 20'' A custom crash
    18'' A custom fast crash
    21'' A custom sweet ride
    22'' A custom ping ride
    DW 9002
    Pork pie throne

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by One-Beat-At-A-Time- View Post
    No, I have problems with fills in general in any style And thank you :D
    Any sort of patternsa you could give me or a link maybe?