Thread: DTXPLORER bass question

User Info Menu

Question DTXPLORER bass question

Hello,
    This is my first post here, and I wasn't sure if I should put this in the Electronic Forum, or the Drum Q&A. I apologize if this is the wrong section.

I have been playing drums for three or four years now on my acoustic PDP set. Recently I moved into an apartment so my set had to stay with my parents. I have been considering purchasing an electric set to satisfy my urge to play drums. The set I was considering was the (ever-so-popular) Yamaha DTXPLORER. I chose that since it has pretty much everything I need with a decent module. It doesn't play bad either...

My concern is that I play a lot of double bass stuff. It's sort of a guilty pleasure. I tried that set out at guitar center, with a double pedal on it, but I didn't hear the left beater much at all. I asked the clerk about it. His response was that since the trigger is in the middle of the pad, it's hard to get the full effect of a double pedal. He recommended that I either upgrade the pad, or get a second one and use two single pedals...

First off it's Guitar Center and I have terrible experience asking them questions. (One time they were asked over the phone if they had any Michael Kelly basses. Their response was "No one named Michael Kelly works here, I think you have the wrong number."

Also I really don't like the way two single pedals feel compared to a double pedal. I was wondering if anyone thinks differently, either from expierence or anything else, that this pad is too small. I am on an extremely tight budget if that means anything.

Thanks all,
    D_Rock

User Info Menu

Default Re: DTXPLORER bass question

I agree with the disadvantages of using s double pedal on a entry level ekick.