Thread: need help with rudiments

User Info Menu

Default need help with rudiments

Hey guys im 15 and have been a drummer on and off for 3 years, but ive been playing for the past 11 months straight. I have good playing ability i can drum along to about 70% of rush and dream theater, but i have a problem, all my rudiments are pretty slow.!! Although i have an average right hand my left hand is horrible, i can barely do gost notes with it. i want to gain speed and become better at all rudiments any help or practice ideas with all my problems would help. thanks guys!!!

User Info Menu

Default Re: need help with rudiments

there are basically about 3 things in drumming man or at least i tell my students i dont think im lying lol. there are singles there are doubles and there are flams practice each of those individually and gradually start adding rudiments to your repitoure.
    PEARL MASTERS MCX in Bronze Glass
    24x18
    16x16
    13x9
    Camilo:''your guitarrist is awesome',Xweasel: ''yeah he's asian''

User Info Menu

but how should i practice them?? should i just go as fast as i can do them on my pad?

User Info Menu

on a pad with a click. Play at a speed just over comfortable untill it becomes comfortable. Always remember to make a note of what speeds cause you can visually see yourself improve. When i do this i do singles around the kit. RLRL on snare, hi ton , Mid tom etc, single stroke roll, parididdles, Double stroke roll, RLLL, LRRR, and just work on various rudiments.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by drummer99 View Post
    on a pad with a click. Play at a speed just over comfortable untill it becomes comfortable. Always remember to make a note of what speeds cause you can visually see yourself improve. When i do this i do singles around the kit. RLRL on snare, hi ton , Mid tom etc, single stroke roll, parididdles, Double stroke roll, RLLL, LRRR, and just work on various rudiments.