Thread: I have no clue. Can someone please explain to me how to record drums?

User Info Menu

Default I have no clue. Can someone please explain to me how to record drums?

Ok, so all I know is that you obviously needs microphones. I've got a set picked out, but after that I have no idea what I need/have to do.

I think I'll probably need a mixer, but I'm not sure if I will, maybe I'll need an equalizer...basically, I'm completely clueless as I'm a complete amateur to recording, can someone please explain to me step by step what I'll have to do?

I don't need any help "getting the right sound" or any of that, I just need to know how to get the sound from my drums to computer. Apparentally there is NO tutorial for this anywhere on the Internet -.-
    Last edited by drummer; 07-12-2010 at 10:00 AM. Reason: commercial link

User Info Menu

Default Re: I have no clue. Can someone please explain to me how to record drums?

Hi Eric and welcome to Drum Chat. I had to remove the commercial link as they are not permitted in Drum Chat (except for paid advertisers).

I think if you search the archives here you'll find a lot of info on this. Others will chime in regardless and help you out. I'm not the expert on this but I know Drum Bum has a few tips in their drum lessons area: Tips on Recording Drums This might at least get you started. They're constantly adding on new lessons so you can refer back to it now and then.

Welcome again. Great to have you as a new member.

User Info Menu

Default Re: I have no clue. Can someone please explain to me how to record drums?

Thanks very much, but none of that helped me. I still don't understand what I'm supposed to do with these mics.

User Info Menu

Here's a recent thread:

http://www.drumchat.com/showthread.p...ecording+drums

If you need a fundamental tutorial, you might want to just invest in a book. It will be well worth it and you'll have it as a continual reference. Here's a drum recording book/dvd combo: