Thread: Finger Technique?

User Info Menu

Default Finger Technique?

Hi, I feel like my single stroke rolls can't get any faster and I've reached like a wall of how fast I can go. (it's not that fast). so I'm starting to learn finger technique because I heard that if you master the fingers, and then mix it with your wrist, you can get a lot faster.

So, some websites tell me to do finger exercises with french grip, but I'm wondering if I should do it in american grip since that is how i play on the drum set? (i had a teacher, and he said to do it in american)

User Info Menu

Default Re: Finger Technique?

Blaque, I am learning the beginnings of finger technique right now - so I am no expert - and I use the American grip. The way that I understand finger technique, you are controlling the bounce by "catching the stick," or facillitating the bounce through finger pressure. That technique can be used with any grip style, so you should have no problem applying it to the American grip -theoretically. It's a whole lot easier to expalin that to do! LOL
    Quoting gonefishin: Just have some bacon with ya when you go pick her up..........youre an instant chick magnet.

For coupons and specials, join the Drum Bum mailing list.

Buy Gifts for Drummers. And don't miss the free Drum Lessons!

User Info Menu

Using French grip to work your fingers is fine. Don't worry about confusion. I learned that way and it never messed with my regular grip. I would also advise you to keep using your wrist to work on singles. Many drummers give up on this far too early. It takes time to build speed but it can be achieved. I've always had blazing single strokes and this was before I ever even started working on finger technique.

User Info Menu

thanks. i can do 16ths at 190 bpm on the snare. my goal is around 205, but at that speed being able to change from the snare to another drum (toms) at every 8th note smoothly. i will do french grip

User Info Menu