Thread: Need some tuning help

User Info Menu

Default Need some tuning help

Hello! First off I just want to say hi and that I am new to this forum.

So on to my troubles. I just recently bought a pork pie big black brass 14x6.5 snare and I'm having trouble getting it tuned the way I like it. I'm not the best tuner out there but every now and then I can get a pretty good tune. Right now I have a Remo Ambassador clear snare head on the snare side and a Remo Coated Powerstroke X on the batter side. I also cut down the snares from a 20 strand to a 14 strand which has greatly reduced the buzz that I was previously getting, but there is still some that I am trying to get rid of. I'm trying to go for a big deep boomy snare sound but I have yet to figure out how to achieve that. Any suggestions?

User Info Menu

Default Re: Need some tuning help

if you want a big boomy snare sound u shoudl get a deeper snare, something like a 7-9" deep.

for what you have, another option would be to get small pieces of tape and tape the snare to the bottom head. this is not what i would do but it will help get rid of the buzz for someone who is not a pro tuner.

next would be to get the bottom loose and the top loose. no wrinkles. tunes up the bottom with every rod having the same pitch, easiest to do with your palm in the cent and hit the head about 1/2 away from the rim.

turn the drum over and do the same for the top, tune up untill desired soudn is found.

User Info Menu

Welcome to Drum Chat tamadrummer1242!

I think BL is on it, as far as I can help.
    Quoting gonefishin: Just have some bacon with ya when you go pick her up..........youre an instant chick magnet.

For coupons and specials, join the Drum Bum mailing list.

Buy Gifts for Drummers. And don't miss the free Drum Lessons!

User Info Menu

Maybe try the emperor snare-side head. Or tune it above wrinkles. Or loosen the snare wires. Or all of the above.
    Pearl-Zildjian-Evans-Vater