Thread: Removal of the resonant head on a bass drum

User Info Menu

Default Removal of the resonant head on a bass drum

Hello! I have an 18" Gretsch Catalina Club bass drum with an Aquarian SuperKick II batter head tuned pretty tight, and no resonant head. I took off the reso some time ago because I thought not having it made my drum sound more crisp and punchy. The sound I'm going for I guess could be described as that: crisp, punchy, deep, a bit of boom but not thuddy or saggy. Now I ask, does anyone else play without the reso head on the bass drum? Ought I put mine back on? I am pretty clueless about all things drums even though I've been playing for two years now. Thanks for your time!

User Info Menu

Default Re: Removal of the resonant head on a bass drum

Back in the 70s, a lot of the Pro drummers, followed by most of the rest of us took off our reso kick drum heads, along with the reso heads on all the toms. Sometime later, the reso heads went back on and stayed on.

The Reso head, when its in place not only deepens the tone of your drum, it also makes your drum sustain the tone and helps the drum shell itself to resonate properly. JMO~, I would put the Reso head back in place and retune both heads.
    Also remember, that the tighter you get a drum head, the Higher The Pitch~!

Do you have a Drum Dial? If so, use it~~if not, JMO again, get one~!
    Want to know what a Drum Dial is? The Drum Dial is a precision measuring device used to find the tension of a drum head and the average cost is around $60.00 dollars US currency from most all of the online music outlets.

A drum head is in tune with itself when the tension at all the tuning lugs are the same AND when you lightly tap about an inch from each tuning lug, the Pitch of the head is the same at each tuning lug position.

Setting the Reso head at a lower tension than the Batter head will result in a Lower tone of the drum.