Thread: LP Aspires! (good or bad)?! HELP!

User Info Menu

Default LP Aspires! (good or bad)?! HELP!

Hey guys,

Im currently a drummer, but moving to a small apartment so i have to give up my set..*tear*..BUT, with the outing of old, comes new. Looking to buy a set of congas! Been doing some research and came to the conclusion that the aspire's seem to be the best spend for under 300. Comes 10" and 11" with a set for 289.99. Watcha guys think? Anyone who might have a set, do you like them? I know, i know, there the most common congas out right now, but there must be some reason behind that! So, pros, cons? Maybe some alternative congas?.....Thanks so much,
    Jed

User Info Menu

Default Re: LP Aspires! (good or bad)?! HELP!

I have a set and they are pretty good. You can also buy used and get something a bit more professional. The Aspires suit my needs though.

User Info Menu

hmm sounds good, any reccomendations?
    Thanks, jed

User Info Menu

They're good for what they are- a beginner set. You might want to spend some time and go through the different threads on this site to see what makes quality conga drums.

If you learning or just want something to bang on, and are on a budget then they are appropriate for you. If you want 'that sound' you hear in recordings or are going to gig, then those arent going to do.

I have some Aspire bongos that I gave to the kids. They were great to learn on, but don't have that crisp sound I now need.

User Info Menu

I just found a set of aspires for 299, with a "free" set of bongos. How does that sound? Got any better alternatives?

User Info Menu