Thread: Cymbal Stand Care and Setup Help

User Info Menu

Default Cymbal Stand Care and Setup Help

Ive been drumming for almost 2 years now, and I have still not figured out how to properly setup my cymbals. The stock crash I had got with the drum set cracked after 7 months or so. Its now a half cymbal. It looks like a "D" now. But I've had 3 Zildjian cymbals now crack and rip on me now as well. An 18" Oriental trash China, 16" and 18" ZBT Rock set crashes.

Here is what my 18" crash looks like now:

16" Crash:

And my china:

Am I keeping them too tight or too loose on the stands?! I can not figure it out. The china was always slightly tightened down and the crashes were pretty lose, to the point where they would just flop. Is there a certain tightness I need to use for both types of cymbals?

Also, I hear putting duct tape on your bass heads will help keep them from not tearing as easily. I have a brand new Pearl head I going to put on this upcoming week. Any tips on keeping a bass head alive will help as well.

Any and all help will help tons!

User Info Menu

Default Re: Cymbal Stand Care and Setup Help

They look as if they have been beat into submission that is for sure!!! Have you considered the spring top cymbal toppers that will cusion the blow on the cymbal as the spring gives as well when the cymbal is struck.

User Info Menu

Well playing metalcore and deathcore will do that I guess haha!
    And I didnt even no they made spring tops. Im heading to Guitar Center today Ill see if they have any. Thanks!

User Info Menu

Man, what are you using...baseball bats ? I recommend using 7A wooden drumsticks .... you will break those before you break your cymbals. Also, you shouldn't hit your cymbals directly head-on. When you hit them off to an angle, the force of your hit is reflected off of the cymbals rather than completely absorbed into the metal. Good luck !

User Info Menu

Thanks all, and anything I can do to help keep my bass heads life longer?