Thread: Noob with a question ^_^

User Info Menu

Default Noob with a question ^_^

Hey there, I am a total noob to drums, but have always wanted to play, and am finally thinking on getting a set and learning the art of the drums.

I was wondering if i could get some suggestions on what would be a good set to start out on

thanks!

User Info Menu

Default Re: Noob with a question ^_^

Well, my advice to you if you're not invested too much in it yet would be to buy used. You can get incredible deals on better kits than your average starter set. You might also consider borrowing or renting a drum set while you're still deciding. Best of luck!

dave0549jv Guest

+1 on used

User Info Menu

used!
    Sonor - Pearl - Tama - Mapex - Paiste - Sabian - Roc N Soc - Pro Mark - Gibralter - Evans - Dixon - Mapex

User Info Menu

Welcome to the forum metooky307, I would have to agree with the rest go used if possible. I scored the Tama 5 pcs in my profile pics for $500, Thats the SKB hardcases and all the drums + stands and that nice throne too. Be patient and find a decent kit it will make a big difference. Jmo. F/T

User Info Menu

Used. I've seen intermediate kits (and even some pro level kits) sell for a lower price than what many entry level kits cost new.
    - Zack

User Info Menu

Used! unless you are from a very weathly family that will dole out the cash for the most expensive set possible..and then If you decide that drumming is not for you, then
    2slow may be interested in that set!! Ha Ha..welcome aboard
    Enjoy the Music!

HOOKED ON VINTAGE ROGERS

12 tom times 3
    13 tom times 3
    16 floor tom 3
    22 BD times 2
    24 BD 1
    Dyna-sonic snare 1976
    Dyna-sonic snare 1969
    Powertone snare 1969
    24 x 12 Djembe

21" K Hybrid custom ride
    21" Avedis ride
    20" Zildjian 1970 ride
    18" A Custom Zildjian fast crash
    17" A Custom Zildjian med crash
    15" A Custom Zildjian Reso hats
    10" A Custom fast splash
    18" A Custom China