Thread: Drum pedal

User Info Menu

Default Drum pedal

Hey guys I just got my new kit, and apart from the crap job I've done on tuning the kit since it's the first time I've ever tuned a whole kit.... My Bass pedal, when I hit it, it hits then again... then again... Even if I put all my weight onto it it still rebounds more than I want it too. Do I need to tune my bass head looser or tighter, Tighten the springs on the pedal? Get a new beater or what? As you can tell I'm a noob :P Hahaha

User Info Menu

Default Re: Drum pedal

With out seeing what you have I would suggest trying to adjust the tension on the pedal first to see if that makes a difference.
    slot # 1

In support of l e i g h ' s campaign..............DC Record for Most Users Online
    BE COUNTED!
    http://www.drumchat.com/showthread.php/dc-record-most-users-12079p2.html

CHARTER MEMBER OF PHROGGE'S AQUARIAN ARMY

The Zildjian League
    Zildjian Vintage A Team

RIP Frank.............thanks for being part of my journey

User Info Menu

It's a stock pedal that came with my Ddrum D2 kit, How do you upload photos from your computer to here? Cause then I could show you

User Info Menu

JD, Its probably not the pedal. There is a number of things you can do. I would start by putting a couple of large pillows in your bass drum. Make sure you lay it in there against the batter head. This should prevent the pedal bounce that you are experiencing. Good luck !

User Info Menu

Thanks I'll try that! :D

User Info Menu

Replacing the batter head with an Evans EMAD head will help as well...plus you will like the sound it gives the kick drum. As was mentioned earlier, try re-adjusting the pedal tension...I would try a looser tension at first to see the effect. Also, re-adjusting the beater height to a lower height should also help.