Thread: Heads...

User Info Menu

Default Heads...

Just need some advice..

I'm 14 and I've been playing for around 7 years, but I don't have much experience with choosing the right resonant heads to go with my batters.

So, I play a 6 Piece Pearl Export Series, 14", 10", 12", 14", 16" and 22"...I like a kinda fat rock sound sooo, I'm thinking...

(I like Remo btw)
    14" Coated Controlled Sound over a Hazy Snare Side Diplomat.
    Clear Pinstripes on all the Toms, and over Clear Ambassadors
    And a Clear Powerstroke 4 Batter on my Bass with an Ebony Powerstroke 3 Resonant...

Is that all good, or do I need adjustments?? Please let me know.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Heads...

sounds good to me!!
    welcome to drumchat im sure youll have fun here.
    Sonor - Pearl - Tama - Mapex - Paiste - Sabian - Roc N Soc - Pro Mark - Gibralter - Evans - Dixon - Mapex

User Info Menu

thanks man, it's nice to feel welcome :D

User Info Menu

Most people do a 2 ply head over a 1 ply head. For a fat sound I love Emps for batters (I have mine over the stock 1 ply head).

User Info Menu

Welcome to DC!!! I personally prefer the Sound Controlled heads. I have used the Powerstroke 3 on the BD, but have been using an Aquarian SK1 that I think really sounds amazing. But as anyone would tell ya, you have to decide on your own what sounds good to you. Remember there are a lot of different tuning techniques that can enhance your sound as well. Good Luck!

User Info Menu

Sounds good to me!
    Matt

User Info Menu

Everything's cool, but personally i'd take the Ported Ambassador for the bass drum reso
    Paiste Alpha 14'' Sound Edge hats
    Paiste Alpha 16'' Medium Crash
    Sabian XS20 14'' Medium-Thin Crash
    Wuhan 16'' China

drummer: Being young is good ... as long as you're also wise
    Quote Originally Posted by weezy View Post
    Then you can use napkins to wipe your hands instead of taping them to your heads.

User Info Menu