Thread: CRACK ... the Z custom goes TWANG

User Info Menu

Default CRACK ... the Z custom goes TWANG

I had a shocking day at work yesterday, so wailed living hell out of the kit last night at a metal gig. I was having a ball, playing hard and fast and pummelling my anger and aggression away.

But I finally killed my 18 inch Z custom crash. I'd cracked it previously, and drilled out the crack to stop it spreading (a 3 inch crack right in the middle) and it's been going for about 6 months since then. But last night I could hear it go TWANG and then deaden. It almost cracked in two. Bah, there goes another pile of cash.

I'm bidding on a couple of Paiste Rudes on ebay as replacements (a 20 inch crash/ride and a 19 inch thin crash). I've always wanted Rudes), but does anyone have any other suggestions (or anything suitable they'd consider selling)?

User Info Menu

Dude...I have an 18" A Custom crash that I have been beating the living hell out of for 13 years, and nary a scratch. I think the Z Customs are too brittle, thus, prone to cracking.
    Word to the wise : don't mess with the drummer.

User Info Menu

Hmmm ... I'll see how I go with the Rude (I've always loved them when I've seen heard them) but A custom might be worth checking out.

I agree with you on the brittle thing - I've got a 16 inch Z custom I use too, and I'm getting nervous about smacking it. At least the smaller size gives it less weight to bear.

What kills me is that the 18 Z was my primary crash - when I ride on a crash cymbal (which is pretty often) it was ALWAYS that one, it just sounded so big and mean. A real wall of sound thing.

User Info Menu

The rudes from what ive heard are basically the Z customs

Thin crash rudes, why do i have a feeling that those are really medium weight and the crash/rides are heavy weights, since most people use them as a crash anyways