Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Beginner here

User Info Menu

Default Beginner here

I have been trying to do double stroke rolls and so far, my left hand seems almost too slow, and when I try to go faster, I just go off beat. Can you guys recommend any exercises or books to get to improve my left hand and my double stroke rolls.

P.S
    So far I don't have a drum teacher, therefore I have been just learning off of sites.
    Can you guys recommend what I should concentrate on first because I am kinda all over the place right now ,learning Drum beats, rudiments and fills.

Thanks !

User Info Menu

Default Re: Beginner here

Quote Originally Posted by nonamedude View Post
    I have been trying to do double stroke rolls and so far, my left hand seems almost too slow, and when I try to go faster, I just go off beat. Can you guys recommend any exercises or books to get to improve my left hand and my double stroke rolls.
    You don't really need the book. You just need to just keep working it. Put the time in and be patient. The results will come, I promise.

P.S
    Can you guys recommend what I should concentrate on first because I am kinda all over the place right now ,learning Drum beats, rudiments and fills.
    That's the perfect group to start with. It sounds like you're going about it just fine. Trust your instincts. It's also a good idea to supplement your learning with a professional teacher (at least for awhile). They can keep you track and keep you from acquiring any bad habits in the beginning.

User Info Menu

I cant add too much more than drummer already did, he hit the nail on the head........practice and patience are the key words.

Nothing comes easy with out practice, if you can get a teacher even just for a couple months in the beginning it will make a huge difference for you.

Best of luck and welcome to the board.
    slot # 1

In support of l e i g h ' s campaign..............DC Record for Most Users Online
    BE COUNTED!