Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How do you learn a song?

User Info Menu

Default How do you learn a song?

I am a very beginner. I have some rudiements and basic beats down and am driving my husband crazy, 'cause all I do is practice a few fills between various beats. "Learn a song" he keeps saying. But, how do you learn a song? Just play along and keep stopping and backing up the cd to try to figure out what they do or what? Drum tabs? I am unsure how to go about this. How did you all learn your first song? I'm SKEERED.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Drummina
    I am a very beginner. I have some rudiements and basic beats down and am driving my husband crazy, 'cause all I do is practice a few fills between various beats. "Learn a song" he keeps saying. But, how do you learn a song? Just play along and keep stopping and backing up the cd to try to figure out what they do or what? Drum tabs? I am unsure how to go about this. How did you all learn your first song? I'm SKEERED.
    Hi Drummina (sista drummer), I'm a beginner as well, as you already know, and I haven't learned my first song yet and probably won’t for a while. My teacher wants me to practice my rudiments and my technique. I've been drumming for about 3 weeks now and I've been making quite a racket around my house as well LOL I’m gearing my energy towards my rudiments, technique and some basic beats, I think learning songs will be something that will come naturally once you really learn the basics.

Anyway, welcome and enjoy this forum, it’s great and you will learn a lot.

DC

User Info Menu

Yeah, I was just playing along with the radio, it sounds like a mess. Maybe I should stick with my instincts and keep working on what I know, trying to make if perfect, and working on one or two new rudiments at a time. I think I will know when I am ready. My husband can just put in earplugs or go outside.

User Info Menu