Thread: Off-set pedal review

User Info Menu

Default Off-set pedal review

I have been playing on my new Offset-double pedal for over a month now and couldn't be happier with my choice. Delivered to my door under $400!!
    There's the short story. Now for the real info...
    I was first taken with the heft of the components as I unpacked the box. There is almost no plastic on this thing. All the posts are solid steel with double horizontial supports.
    I had to follow the instructions really freakin' carefully while assembling the first pedal but then it all made sense and I flew through the second one. From box to kick was under 15 minutes.
    I started off by trying to match the right foot's feel to my old Yamaha pedal (that I had just retired after 28 years of solid service). That took the better part of about an hour and then I did some more fine tuning for about a week after. Haven't touched it since.
    The left foot was not so simple. This is my first time playing double, so I had no idea what my left foot might need for settings. I matched the two pedals at first, but that didn't feel right. I have tried alot of different settings (alot) and find that my left foot wants a looser setting than my right. (That will probably change as I get used to this thing being there at all. The hardest thing to get used to is the idea that I suck at double bass drumming. It's a bigger challenge than I thought to learn a new technique after 33 years behind a single pedal kit.)
    As I fiddled with these pedals, I absolutely marveled at the level of adjustability. With four springs to play with, seperate beater angles, pedal heights, cam position (turned out to be the most dramatic change in response and the magic "Ah-ha" for my right foot!), distance from the beaters to the pedal, and sliding beater weights, I cannot imagine anyone not being able to find a way to adjust this pedal to their liking. The beaters have a plastic and felt side for different attacks, too.