Thread: Electronic Drum Monitoring

User Info Menu

Default Electronic Drum Monitoring

Hello all,

I've been playing drums for about 10 years now but I have always used acoustic sets. I've moved for grad school so tearfully sold my Mapex for a Roland TD-9 so I could still play in my apartment.
    My question for you learned e-drummers is what are the requirements for a good elec drum monitor. I was looking at the Kustom KPC210MP. It's a dual 10" powered monitor. Freq. range is a big deal with this, I know. This monitor's is 100Hz - 20kHz. It pushes out 100W and I know that's enough for me just to jam with my friends at the apartment (we don't play heavy stuff...either jazz or singer/songwriter stuff. Think Jason Mraz I guess). This is the cheapest solution I've found so let me know what you guys think. Thanks.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Electronic Drum Monitoring

Welcome to Drum Chat AlkaFeltser!

Sorry to hear about the switch from acoustic, but I'm sure you'll have fun with the Roland. Unfortunately, you are going to give up a lot of low end with with the Kustom powered monitor you're thinking about. Even the Kustom KPC10MP will give you a better frequency response at 90Hz-20kHz, but even that won't give you what you need, especially coming off an acoustic kit. I think I would look for something with less output wattage, and a better frequency response.
    Quoting gonefishin: Just have some bacon with ya when you go pick her up..........youre an instant chick magnet.

For coupons and specials, join the Drum Bum mailing list.

Buy Gifts for Drummers. And don't miss the free Drum Lessons!

User Info Menu

Welcome ! I got a used B-52 matrix and it works great !! It can also be used at small gigs for vocals,keys, ect check it out
    E Drums !! !

There are no loud instruments just loud players !

Protect Your Hearing !!!!

User Info Menu