Thread: Best Ekit for live shows-Help!

User Info Menu

Default Best Ekit for live shows-Help!

Hello, I am new to Drumchat and electronic drums in general so bear with me. I am looking to start gigging with an electronic kit. I am currently in a band that plays a couple of times a month;so ease of setup/teardown is important as well as durability. I like the idea of having 4X tom pads plus a snare and kick but it would'nt be deal breaker if it were a standard 5 pc. kit as long as the pads were dual zoned. The kits I have been looking at are the Alesis DM10 studio/Roland TD4S/Yamaha DTXpress. My budjet is around $1000. The DM10 looks like it has everything I need but I worry about the durability of the rack. Maybe I could purchase an aftermarket rack for a couple hundred bucks? Some people say Roland are the best but is the TD4s good for playing out and my budjet. I think the Yamaha has only single zone toms.
    I don't know. Any and suggestions would be appreciated.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Best Ekit for live shows-Help!

have you played live shows on an acoustic kit?
    what is the bands pa like? stage monitors and FOH ?

Official cowbell hater.

User Info Menu

How about a used
    Pearl E-Pro Live
    $2,999.00 new, but I'm sure you could find used cheaper..
    But yeah Roland TD's are really good, again, used it worth it!
    -DrumRookie

-Gear-
    Birch Tama Starclassic 22", 14", 12", 10" - 14"x5" Black Panther Steel Snare - Iron Cobra Hi-Hat Stand - Zildjian 20" A Vintage ride - Sabian HH 16" Crash - Sabian AAX 18" Studio Crash - Agazarian 10" Splash - Sabian XS20 14" Medium Hats - ProMark Shira Kashi Oak 5A - Various sticks & percussion - CP Bongos

User Info Menu

well live best e kit would be a higher end one but if you worry about tear down then you shouldn't play drums its part of being a musician and drummer thats why your gf or band mates gfs or friends are roadies if your worried about portability get a smaller kit a go type of kit