Thread: Head setup

User Info Menu

Default Head setup

Hi all! I haven't played since I was 13 and now I'm 43 and picking it back up. I am playing with 3 other guys playing mainly country and just picked up some equipment in October. I have some questions concerning these new heads and how to get the sounds I really want. I have Yamaha drums and the original heads really bit! I am now in the process of switching them out with new Remos. I have done quite a lot of research on the internet, as well as on here...so i guess I am not going completely blindly, but pretty close! I play mainly brushes because the guys I play with play acoustic Martins. I got the snare sounding pretty good. I have an Ambassdor coated batter and am going to put the Remo hazy snare side on the bottom tonight. Hope it sounds good. My main problem are the two mounted toms I have (Yamaha Birch Stage Toms 10 and 12"). Originally they had clear tops and resonators..of course, they sounded like junk no matter what I tried to set the head pressues at with my dial...and I know clear tops suck for brushes anyway. I am trying Coated ambassadors for the tops and am going with THE SAME for the bottoms...I am trying it because I want the Toms to be warm and quiet...i thought clear ambassadors would be more resonating! I don't want bongy toms! I also have some Remo o rings to try to get the ring out of them. I thought, too, I might slap some remo muffle rings on the toms (any experience with them) as well to keep them quiet for the type of small band we are. I am a little premature in posting because I am still in the process of setting them up and testing, but I was just looking for any extra help you guys may give for the type of quiet sounds I am after...One dude told me that 2 ply heads may be what i want for a batter because they are quieter too??? Do I sound like I am going in the right direction or just a rambling idiot??
    Last edited by polygonguy; 11-22-2010 at 02:03 PM.

User Info Menu