Thread: The Whole Sha-Bang!

User Info Menu

Default The Whole Sha-Bang!

So, I am completely new to recording drums.
    I have an acoustic 5 piece drum set.(snare, bass, 2rack toms, and a floor tom) Basic set up with 1 overhead crash, a splash, and a ride. and obviously hi-hats.

I want to start recording my drums for videos. I really want to make drum covers/lessons for youtube. I have a budget no larger than $350.
    I was wondering what i can get for this.

I was looking at the CAD drum mics. The only sound stuff i have now is some acoustic treatment, a fast computer, and audacity.

Any advice you can give would be loved.

Thank You

-Ruabat

User Info Menu

Default Re: The Whole Sha-Bang!

Hey Ruabat.
    Just read your post. Well you are going to have your hands tied a little based on your budget. Good news first... A good computer and software is key and it sounds like your have that.Now the rub, with 350 dollars you will be able to pic a set of mics used that will work for recording drums but you have got to interface the mics with the computer and this is where the expense is going to come in. There are a ton of different interfaces but what you will want is a minimum of 8 inputs for real time recording of 8 mics at once and the interface needs to have preamps built in unless you want to buy those as well and btw, those can be crazy expensive. The closest thing I can think of include the presonus firestudio, or the 8 channel interface from motu. I would look for these used on ebay which would push the price down.