Thread: Trouble with metronome

User Info Menu

Default Trouble with metronome

Greetings,

This is my first post on this board.

I've been drumming for close to 8 years now. I started out with private lessons and have been in a few bands.

I'm just now learning how to play to metronome. My current band is electronic, and when i play with a combination of Click AND Music i'm totally fine and on point, but when i play to a metronome by itself i can't seem to keep time.

the discipline i've adopted is practicing 10 minutes every day to a metronome and playing 1/4 notes on on my drum pad (beat 1 and 3 with my right hand and beat 2 and 4 with my left hand). i've done this for 3 weeks now (i think there was only 4 days total that i missed) and noticed very minor improvement. i don't seem to be catching on.

i was told to start at the slowest tempo (40 bpm for the one i'm using) and during my practice session i'll be on beat for a few strokes, but when that happens i can't hear the click and have no reference point, then i over-think it and that's when i fall off tempo.

the metronome i started out using is the online one (sorry ttn, but I had to delete the link because the site contains things for sale. That makes it a commercial link, and it is prohibited by the Forum Rules. -PB)
    but yesterday my girlfriend bought me a korg metronome for christmas. I will try it out tomorrow.

MY QUESTION:
    Should i be patient and keep doing the same routine, or is there a technique you can recommend?

User Info Menu

Default Trouble with metronome

Hi,

This is my first post on this board. My first post didn't go through, hope i'm not accidentally double posting

anyways, i'm having trouble playing to a metronome. I've been drumming for 8 years, been in a few bands, and can play on time with a click track AND music together, but not a click by itself