Thread: Feelings on World Percussion

User Info Menu

Default Feelings on World Percussion

Hi! I'm new to DrumChat.

I'm primarily a guitar player (forgive me). I picked up a djembe a few years back and have loved it. I'm thinking of building up a hand drum set to jam out on- possibly some congas, bongos, doumbeks, cymbals... I figured it'd be less of a learning curve than an actual kit, and I think it would be fun.

What would you say people generally think about hand percussion? Do you think its an interesting sound to non-musicians or kinda lame? I'm typically a classic rock / blues guy, but I also like Dispatch and Dave Matthews Band. If I tried recording it with guitar and bass do you think that would be potentially a good sound or am I spending money on a musical failure? Basically I'm wondering general thoughts on the idea...

User Info Menu

Default Re: Feelings on World Percussion

Welcome to Drum Chat folkrockbluesjam!

My opinion would be just listen to Santana to hear some great hand drumming. People sure enjoy that music. One of our members, bongobro, plays hand drums with his church's praise band, and he is well received. I say go for it, and enjoy!
    Quoting gonefishin: Just have some bacon with ya when you go pick her up..........youre an instant chick magnet.

For coupons and specials, join the Drum Bum mailing list.

Buy Gifts for Drummers. And don't miss the free Drum Lessons!

User Info Menu

Welcome!

In my opinion some of the greatest music has come from those that ignore cultural boundaries and let their creativity soar. Follow your instincts.

User Info Menu

Personnaly I prefeer Congas but Djembe works well as a solo drum. The overtone can drown out other tones of other instruments. One way to overcome this is to dampen the head with a little duct tape, sticky tack or even rubber cement on the underside of the head. Experiment until you find the sound you like. You might like it allready but this is just my suggestion.