Thread: help for bad habits

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

User Info Menu

Default help for bad habits

hey, I've been playing for about a year and a half, I started playing funk rock and classic rock (rhcp, Boston, etc.) and have now moved on to hard rock, alt.rock, alt.metal, etc. due to the funk rock off beats are no problem, but it seems when i get a song that has a rhythm im not very familiar with i cant seem to pick it up, especially if its played on the ride. (hammerhead by the offspring is a good example of what i'm talking about) any advice on what my help me to become more comfortable with these types of rhythms as well as my ride for anything but metal?

User Info Menu

Default Re: help for bad habits

I would say just listen to the drums over and over and try it slow, try to get it then speed it up and again and again until you get it.
    Did you hear about the drummer that locked his keys in his car? It took 4 hours to get the bass player out.

Tama Rockstar Series
    8x7"
    10x8"
    12x9"
    16x16
    22x18 bass
    13x6 snare
    ZBT 16'',18'',20''
    Tama IC jr. double pedals.

User Info Menu

Sounds like you're trying to leave your comfort zone. Which is great, if you're trying to expand your variety and skill level. Lots of drummers are happy only learning one genre and closing their minds to other ones, which is rather disappointing. If you're having trouble learning the new stuff, you might try dissecting passages of a song one at a time. Can you slow down your songs on the computer with audacity?
    ZildjianLeague/LP/Aquarian/Mapex/Pearl
    Snares: 4
    RIP- Frank, Wolvie, Les Paul
    Quote Originally Posted by Pearl MCX Man View Post
    I wish I was your wife
    Quote Originally Posted by amdrummer View Post
    if double bass is cheating then so is using two sticks

Forum Rules
    DrumBum
    No metronome?
    The Rudiments

User Info Menu