Thread: A big decision

User Info Menu

Exclamation A big decision

Hey, so I am a freshman in high school and we are determining placing for next year on drumline. Now, I am the best freshman and my director has told me to pick what I want to play, and he will make sure I get it. But, I have no idea if pick tenors or snare. So I would greatly appreciate some (unbiased) insight on this topic, considering I plan on playing for a college drumline in the future. Thanks a Bunch

User Info Menu

Default Re: A big decision

Carry 1 drum or carry 5 drums, that is the question.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by xsabers View Post
    Carry 1 drum or carry 5 drums, that is the question.
    This. If you're a shorter person, I'd probably almost definitely do snare. Then again, if you can carry the quads, go for it.

It also depends on whether you like matched grip or traditional more. Try to get either the snare captain or someone who is good at snare (that might not necessarily mean everyone on the snare line. Then again, it might at your school) to watch you play sometime and see what they think. Since your director said you'd get a spot on whatever you want to play, this might not seem to matter, and it doesn't as much. Although, if you're better at one and have better stick control, then I'd say go for that one. It'll probably be easier and possibly more enjoyable in the long run.

From personal experience that is somewhat relevant - I, too, am a freshman and had originally planned to do snare. I was in the pit on the vibraphone this year, and was really good at it. However, a few weeks ago, even though I've been working on snare all year, one of my best friends (who is also coincidentally snare captain) taught me some basic stuff on quads and we found out that I'm A LOT better at quads, and it's more comfortable to play. Most likely because it's somewhat comparable to mallets, with moving around the drums and matched grip. So definitely try both out.