Thread: Need some help with a practice regimen

User Info Menu

Default Need some help with a practice regimen

Disclaimer: I may ramble.

For the most part I'm a self taught drummer. After about 10 yrs of intermittent playing, I have begun playing regularly again. Older and theoretically wiser, I am trying to approach practicing differently than what I am accustomed to.

So, I figured I would start with learning the rudiments and brushing up on my sight reading (I think that's what it's called). For the rudiments I'm practicing paradiddles, double paradiddles, and a cool combo of those, along with a triple paradiddle, that I found on drum bum. For the reading I'm using Elementary Drum Method by Roy Burns. When practicing I try to set aside a half hour, 15 min for rudiment stuff and 15 min for reading. If I have more time I work on beats for fun.

This seemed fine and dandy until I saw Drumbledore's (sp?) post with the videos in the how to avoid injury thread. After watching them I realized how bad my technique was. I am not using the right grip, or my fingers like I should be. Now I'm trying to re-figure how I should be practicing.

After messing around with my grip last night, I feel that I need to focus on using my fingers when playing the paradiddles, and then, instead of reading, work on the open/close technique (2, 3, & 4 per the video). Then once comfortable with that technique, I'll move on to the Moeller and then back to the reading.

I'm trying to focus on only 2 things at once, outside of working beats, as I have tendency to get distracted. Plus this keeps practice sessions quick and easy to fit in on a daily basis.

With all that said, I'm driving myself insane trying to figure what I should be doing and then a direction I should head. From what I described above, am I on the right track? What should I change or add?

I'm having to reteach myself so I want to make sure I am doing the right thing so that way I don't end up in the same place again. Thanks.