Thread: Noob conga player with head question

User Info Menu

Default Noob conga player with head question

I'm in a small band of 4 and I'm playing congas 50% of the time. I have no drum experience.. period! We have a loaner set of 10 and 11in Toca Player series. They have stock heads and they sound kinda dead. I have two choices.. step up an buy some good stuff or just replace the heads. I'm not sure I'm ready to drop the big $. Suggestions? Remo heads?

User Info Menu

Default Re: Noob conga player with head question

Good choice!

I recommend Remo Fiberskyn, Nuskyn or Skyndeep heads. The majority of the tone is from the head anyway. New heads are the most cost effective choice compared with new drums. Remos are easy on the hands, project well and are easier to achieve the tones with compared with skins. Remos are more durable too and do not need frequent retuning that skin does.

For Remo heads and matching the right one for your drum see 32-33 in the link below:

http://www.remo.com/portal/pages/abo...+Catalogs.html

The toneof the head can be adjusted underneath with duct tape to reduce overtones and potential ringing. This is a tone/taste thing.

This is just my opinion anthere will be some that will agree and disagree.

Keep it fun,

Jerry Bembe

User Info Menu

Default Re: Noob conga player with head question

I played a great Remo fiber skin Djembe about 16 in diameter. It had a terrific sound.

User Info Menu

Cool Re: Noob conga player with head question

Quote Originally Posted by busyflyin View Post
    I'm in a small band of 4 and I'm playing congas 50% of the time. I have no drum experience.. period! We have a loaner set of 10 and 11in Toca Player series. They have stock heads and they sound kinda dead. I have two choices.. step up an buy some good stuff or just replace the heads. I'm not sure I'm ready to drop the big $. Suggestions? Remo heads?