Thread: Hi all! I'm new to congas, but just bought a pair... I have some q's!

User Info Menu

Default Hi all! I'm new to congas, but just bought a pair... I have some q's!

they are used and fiberglass. The label reads, Latin Percussion, LP, M. Cohen, Palasaides, New Jersey. We bought em yesterday from a guy off craigslist, he said they were used in a one hit wonder in the 60-70's but this guy wasnt a social butterfly, and was kinda stand-off'ish... not that he was ripping us off, but just that he was awkward and didn't know how to talk to people. They came with seperate stands with casters, and also bags, which look like military issued canvas bags (one for each). The bags say *Cheryl McLennan* on the bottom, I don't think they were originally his and I don't know how he came across em. I've included pictures, any information on the congas history and quality would be appreciated. I've never owned congas, my husband is a guitar and drum player (mostly guitar) but we wanted to get some congas for me to play to harmonize. Thank you for any help- Jill

Last edited by hickman22; 02-07-2011 at 07:15 PM.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Hi all! I'm new to congas, but just bought a pair... I have some q's!

almost forgot, here is a picture of the name on the bottom of the bag... Im curious to learn my congas history/story.... what was the bands name (this so called 'one-hit wonder'), was cherly mclennan the conga player in that band? etc.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Hi all! I'm new to congas, but just bought a pair... I have some q's!

LOL, soon this post should show up.

No, I'm not playing PB.
    Signature here

User Info Menu

Very cool set of congas! These are a vintage set. The US built at the original site is a great find. Thise bags were part of the original conga sale. These were included with the congas when they were originally sold back in the day. The stand is a vintage LP stand too.