Thread: Guitarist learning to drum

User Info Menu

Default Guitarist learning to drum

Hello All,
    New here and new to drumming. I've been playing guitar in bands for 25 yrs. I've always loved the drums and finally picked up a set a few days ago. Although I can keep a beat, I want to learn the proper way of doing things. Been watching some rudiment videos on youtube, but I'd love to hear your advice on how I should go about my new musical journey.

Thanks in advance.

User Info Menu

Default Re: Guitarist learning to drum

CW, you probably know just enough to be dangerous. Unfortunately, this is not a good thing as you've seen too many times with musicians learning a new instrument (like the guitar). The problem is that you've probably learned too much and not enough of the basics....that is, you need a good foundation. The only way I know to get that is by getting some lessons. However, once you get going, I think you'd soon be on auto-pilot !

User Info Menu

Question I have is, do you have issues tuning the drums. As a 20 year vet on guitar, I learned to train my ear because my attitude and past experience as a guitar player and tech, was the wrong attitude. I know play the drums as a drummer and tune as a drummer, not a guitar player. Its not an easy thing to do after being one with a guitar for 20 years.

User Info Menu

Now *

User Info Menu

Since i bought the kit I've changed the batter heads and about to change the reso's. Well, so far so good with the tuning, however, still having trouble with some ringing here and there, but nothing too bad. Hopefully I'll get better with time.

User Info Menu