Thread: New (to Me) Congas

User Info Menu

Default New (to Me) Congas

An acquaintance of mine had a pair of CP congas that he wasn't using. He bought them used, so he did not know how old the were. I have no idea what they are worth, but I offered him $100 for them, which he accepted. I looked of a serial number to see if they could be dated. I found what looked like dates hand written on the inside of each drum. They looked like dates. If they are, the drums were made in 1995. The conga is 10 1/2" and the quinto is 9.5". They are 28" tall. They came with a stand. I hope I didn't rip the guy off. They are red, and I don't mean wine red, I mean RED. I'll post pics when I take some tomorrow.

I am basically self-taught on my hand drums. Are there any good videos for learning to play these things properly?

Thanx,
    Jack

May this be the best day you ever had and the worst you ever will. Trinity House Mudslinger.

User Info Menu

Unhappy Re: New (to Me) Congas

Jack,
    Welcome to conga playing. The formal name for a musician playing congas is conguero.

Regarding these CP congas, do they have chrome plated hardware? The chrome plated hardware CP congas are quite respectable compared with the rest of the LP line.

A good up grade for these congas is some new heads. I reccomend the REMO Skyndeep line and choose the 10" and 11" Aspire conga head size and that should fit just fine. I will double check this tomorrow because I have 2 heads that I have that are for this purpose. The 10" has a 9 3/4" head and the 11" has a 10 3/4" head. This is odd but this how it works.

There are many good demonstration aids at congaplace and a wealth of additional information. Unfortunately Congaplace is not always as civil as this site.

Enjoy your drums. The best drums for anybody is the drums that they currently have.

User Info Menu

Default Re: New (to Me) Congas

As promised:

The other drum has 5-8-95 written in it.