Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: My God, what did I do?

User Info Menu

Default My God, what did I do?

My Kick drum on my Signia kit, which I love dearly, has a huge tom mount on it that does not get used. My band has the next 4-5 weeks off so I thought, good time to remedy this little item.
    My first attempt, I did not like the plug I used, the hole saw center hole will not stain up right.

So I cut this out and carved a piece of solid maple to fill the hole. Then I could not get the stain to match and blend so I took down the whole shell.

Then the next day I found a smokin deal on some birdseye veneer. Two 4X8 sheets for $20! Normally about $130 a sheet I believe.

User Info Menu

Default Re: My God, what did I do?

I am not that experienced at veneering. so I have this old shell I usually use to check my router depth when I do bearing edges.

This was one of my frankensteins, 3 tom or snare shell remnants put together, it is all maple so who knows, it might actually sound good.
    Then I cut up these blocks of cherry with a curve to put pressure on the shell, lots of clamps and a ratchet strap.

Speaking of frankenstein

User Info Menu

I actually ran out of clamps and had to buy some more.
    Well the old snare turned out not bad, it was far from smooth so it did get some ripples, with a nice straight shell, it should work out. Or I will destroy my mega dollar high end kit that took me years to find because they dont make them anymore.

This pic shows the fresh wrap, it is rough, no sanding has been done.

So no time to waste, I jump right in with the Signia kick drum.

After a 220 grit sanding
    Tasty Birdseye. I have always wanted a set of Signia's but I have also always wanted a Birdseye maple kit, I am on my way