Thread: Got WOOD?!

User Info Menu

Default Got WOOD?!

Got your attention? :P Just wondering who likes what wood. And who knows about different woods and ply thicknesses and how that affects the sound of the wood. Like i heard that maple gives lots of deepend and overall more warm sound. But that could just be because of its ply thickness too. And the depth and width of the drum too. Obviously the width changes the tone of the sound. Whats the depth do?

Anyone know anything about these?

User Info Menu

Got my attention! LMAO!

User Info Menu

i knew someone would fall for it! :P ya dont know though do ya? :S

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Stevo42w
    i knew someone would fall for it! :P ya dont know though do ya? :S
    No, sorry, I'm still a newbie to all of this drumming stuff but I'm pretty sure BTG is very knowledgeable on this subject, he should be on later and I'm sure he'll answer your post..........

User Info Menu

From the Drum Tuning Bible: "Maple compared to African Mahogany: Mahogany will have an approximate 20% increase in low frequency resonance over the Maple drum, mid and high frequencies will be the same from a reproduction point of view. Maple compared to Birch: Birch will have about a 10% loss in reproduction of low end compared to Maple and about a 20% increase in the high end, with the mid range remaining about the same. So the Birch kit will definitely be a "harder" and "brighter" sounding kit. Beech is in
    between Maple and Birch. All other Maple colored woods used in laminated shells are basically there for either structural integrity or looks and do not have the desired qualities (meaning density and grain structure) of the above.